Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Kangaroos Gets Second Champions Trophy

The Kangaroos fabricated history again! Defending Champion Australia exhausted New Zealand in the final to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2009. They had won the ICC Champions Trophy 2008 too. The Aussies bounced aback with a blast to ability the top of the ICC ODI Rankings, with their superb achievement in Champions Trophy. Shane Watson scored a brilliant century in the final.

Australia started the final as the favorite adjoins the Kiwis, who absent there skipper Daniel Vettori because of an injury. New Zealand won the toss and adopted to bat first. But Australian bowlers did not accord them a adventitious to achieve down.

New Zealand could administer aloof 200/9 in 50 overs. Guptill was the top scorer with 40, while Broom fabricated 37. Franklin contributed 33. For Australia, Hauritz took 3 wickets. Brett Lee took 2 wickets.

Chasing a target of 201, Australia absent Ponting and Paine for only two runs on board. New Zealand began to back victory, as Australia were 6/2 at one stage. However, Watson and White afflicted the advance of the bold with a affiliation of 128. White fabricated 62.

Australia accomplished 206/2 in 45.2 overs. Shane Watson hit his 4th ODI hundred and additional consecutive century and remained best on 105. For New Zealand, Kyle Mills took 3 wickets. Shane Watson was declared "Man of the Match". Australia became the to win ICC Champions Trophy twice.

Ricky Ponting won the "Golden Bat" for scoring the best 288 runs in the tournament. Ponting additionally won the "Man of the Tournament" award. South African bowler Wayne Parnell, who took 11 wickets in the tournament, got the "Golden Ball" award.

No comments:

Post a Comment